Víctima de la violencia? Protégete en línea. Aprenda cómo ocultar su historial de navegación. × Salida rapida (ESC)
Victim of violence? Protect yourself online. Learn how to hide your browsing history. × Quick exit (ESC)

Six Area Residents Join Pillars Community Health Board of Directors

The volunteer board members will help promote and advise the nonprofit organization.

LA GRANGE, Ill.—This month Pillars Community Health welcomes six new members to its Board of Directors. Pillars Community Health is a nonprofit provider of Medical, Dental, Mental Health and Addictions, Domestic and Sexual Violence, and Early Childhood Education Services. Headquartered in La Grange, the organization has 10 locations in the western and southwestern suburbs and traces its history back to 1921. The volunteer board is charged with providing oversight and direction, including making policies, safeguarding assets, evaluating the health of the organization, and planning for the future.

The new members are as follows:

  • Shilpa Hingwe, Western Springs, is senior vice president at US Bank in Chicago. She specializes in banking services for mid-market businesses. Hingwe’s community and board experience centers on women’s and children’s advocacy. She is excited to bring her financial expertise to the Pillars Community Health board as it relates to domestic violence shelters and women’s advocacy.
  • Leanna Rajk, Western Springs, is an assistant state’s attorney with the Cook County State’s Attorney’s office, where she works with juveniles and is a trial specialist with survivors of sexual and domestic violence. In addition to her trial work, Rajk regularly conducts and attends training on sexual and domestic violence both locally, and at the national level.
  • April Schweitzer, Brookfield, is an associate attorney with Nixon Peabody, specializing in matters related to Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC). Prior to her work as an attorney, she worked in public health, focusing on tobacco control. Schweitzer brings a great deal of expertise in public health and FQHC compliance to the board.
  • Eric Spratford, MD, La Grange, is a family physician with the AMITA Health Medical Group. At the start of his career in medicine, he served as a resident at Community Nurse Health Association, a Pillars Community Health predecessor association. Dr. Spratford is excited to continue his 20+ years support of the organization in this new capacity on the board.
  • Kathryn Stasys, Western Springs, is an elementary teacher with River Forest District 90 Schools. Kathryn has passion for and expertise working with parents and children with special needs. She is a Learning Behavior Specialist and brings a wealth of experience with alternative teaching techniques to enhance and improve the classroom experience for all children, especially those in need of special attention.
  • Mike McNeily, Western Springs, is a former teacher turned personal financial advisor. Deeply connected and committed to the local community, he brings a wealth of experience in education; community service; and community engagement (with various civic organizations, his local school district, and his church community).

In addition to the new members, the board recently voted to reelect its board officers, including:

  • Chair: Rachel Shaw Callahan of Western Springs, Associate Director and People Operations Lead at Crowe in Oak Brook
  • Chair-Elect: Stephen J. Ryan, Jr. of Western Springs, Chief Executive Officer of RyTech, LLC, in La Grange
  • Immediate Past Chair: Zada Clarke of Western Springs, Community Volunteer
  • Treasurer: Edward Farrell of La Grange Park, Realtor with Coldwell Banker in La Grange
  • Secretary: Annika Pangan of Darien, who works with the Family Shelter Service in Wheaton

“I am honored to serve as Chair of the Board of Directors for Pillars Community Health, an organization that truly cares about making our community healthier,” says Rachel Shaw Callahan, board chair. “The educational and caring culture brought to clients and patients is transforming lives. We are sincerely thankful to the board members who ended their service on the board this year and to the new board members. They are also passionate about this amazing organization and are excited to provide their expertise to propel our strategic plans for future growth and continued positive impact in the communities we serve.”

Board members who ended their service this year include Nick Chancellor, Mark Greifenkamp, Jennifer Hogberg, Lynn Lacey, Matt McNaughton, Mary Murphy, Julie Porter, Dorothy Sterling, and Cindy Summers. The Honorable Russell W. Hartigan becomes director emeritus.

Pillars Community Health is currently planning its annual gala, The Ball, to be held Saturday, February 1, 2019, at Drury Lane in Oakbrook Terrace. The black-tie-optional event offers a way for community members to support and learn more about the organization’s services, while also enjoying an evening of live music, dancing, raffles, auctions, and more. Find more information about Pillars Community Health and The Ball at www.PillarsCommunityHealth.org or call 708-PILLARS (708-745-5277).

Scroll al inicio